1. The best way to understand other cultures is to work for a multinational organisation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Culture is the way of life of a particular set of people. Although there are other effective ways of understanding a culture, most people believe that to get accustomed to different cultures, the most effective way is to get jobs and work in an international establishment. I totally agree with this opinion because it gives opportunity for a broader exposure and accustomisation to the culture that wants to be learned.

Firstly, employment in an international organisation exposes one to different cultures. In an organisation, there are a lot of people who hail from different continents of the world of which cultural diversity will be an advantage to one who is interested. For instance, the United kingdom is recently employing medical practitioners especially nurses from non-EU countries. A nurse who will work in this kind of setting will have the opportunity to meet new people and make friends. Hence, they have opportunity to learn their languages and some other material aspect of their culture.

Secondly, migration is likely to occur due to the nature of one's job. Someone who gained employment in an organisation located internationally might decide to migrate for proximity and other beneficial reasons which in turn will make them get accustomed to the culture of the people, the language,food etc. For instance, my aunt one taught in a school in Berlin, Germany some years back and her employment made her family migrate. This gave her the opportunity to learn her dream language, German and also get well accustomed to their culture. For this reason, it is thought that the best method to understand a culture is by working for multinational companies.

In conclusion, amongst other ways of learning culture such as through lectures and the internet, I believe the best way to understand a culture is through gaining employment in a multinational establishment because it gives better opportunity for getting exposure and accustomed to the way of life of the people.