1. Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals think that a nation should import the least amount of food from other countries and try to cultivate itself for its citizens. I fully disagree with this opinion because, without large-scale trade, it is very hard for a country to grow its economy and fulfill people’s satisfaction.

To begin with, if a country starts a policy to import very limited food from the international market, it may affect its economy. Since food is a major item that many countries regularly exchange on a global scale, it plays a significant role in their finance. For example, a recent study revealed that more than 50% of the total intercontinental trade was done only by the food industry and its figure was 190 billion US dollars. So, if they limited their import they would not earn advantages through it, and in the end, such a rule may cuse a downfall of the country’s economy.

Furthermore, without a large scale of food trade between many countries, people cannot crab offer to taste different types of food to their satisfaction. This is because some kinds of food are only available in a suitable climate in a particular area. For instance, in Canada, due to the extreme weather cultivation of fresh fruit is a challenging task even with the help of modern technology. So, importing food in vital in this case to fulfill the need for a variety of tastes for their consumer.

To conclude, I disagree with the argument that a country not only imports less but also effort to prodce for their public because it is very difficult to uplift a country’s financial status as well as satisfy people.