2.7.2022: Nowadays people depend on technology in their free time. Is this a positive or negative development?

With advanced technology, people are becoming more dependent most of their time on smart equipment, especially in their spare time. Although there is no doubt that technology can be beneficial to society to a certain extent, I assert that this will do more harm than benefit.

On the one hand, several reasons explain the popularity of using advanced equipment in pastimes. Firstly, the most significant of which is this kind of entertainment is widespread accessibility. They save more time by reducing travel time or money thanks to the help of electronic devices. For instance, instead of having a long line to go shopping, you only have a mouse click to order products. With the rapid change in society, people will be under more pressure, and they can find a laugh by playing video games or social media. As a result, using electronic devices helps them relieve stress or tired after hard- working days.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I believe spending too much time using technology brings us more harm. The first reason is that social media, computer games, messaging, and dating websites can all be addictive. For example, games want you to play so that you will buy the next version, websites want you to interact so that they can bring in advertising money. Users end up wasting vast amounts of time and hemorrhaging money for low returns. In addition, the likelihood of weight and psychological diseases is very high, such as obesity or depression that humans seriously suffer from in this day and age. It is because of the lack of outdoor activities and healthy exercises.

To sum up, besides the variety of advantages of using technology by making use of free time to relax, I still believe the disadvantages of electronic devices outweigh the advantages