4. Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that some stores or even big shopping malls went break recently because of a variety of factors. In my opinion, the vanishing of physic shopping streets is tragic and will bring negative consequences.

There are three main reasons why the high street shop is hard to survive in today’s market. Firstly, I reckon that the hit from the competing provider, the online shopping industry, impacts the overturn from the sales in stores. People, especially the young generation are accustomed to compare, select and buy things on the websites, so they are reluctant to go out for shopping. Secondly, increasing customers are interested in unique stuff made by individual owners instead of manufactory goods displaying in the high streets that you can easily spot the same thing on the road. Finally, the ridiculously high rent for the physic stores cuts the shrinking profits which worsens the owners’ financial situation.

It seems to me that the development is not a good thing for the society. Thousands of people who were working as sales in stores would lose their jobs and the unemployment rate would surge to a high point. In this case, society may face a serious social problem with a huge financial burden for supporting jobless people. On the other hand, shopping malls can also provide people with a place to hang out with friends or to relax in a café. People can buy whatever they need online but they still need high streets some time for other entertainment purposes.

In conclusion, there are different factors may cause stores going bankrupt and I think this can trigger many potential problems.