Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many retail outlets on high streets have gone out of business. Personally, I think that the main reason belongs to online shopping. In my point of view, this issue brings negative developments to producers.

It is common to believe that online shopping in recent years is much more superior to offline shopping as it brings various benefits for customers. Their rationale is that social trading platforms allow users to access and experienced every type of item without finding it directly at several selling locations. Take Shoppe, for example, this application allows users to pick their items through an interface displaying every product from various producers or retailers. As a result, it will be easier for consumers to buy what they want without buying it at high street shops.

From my perspective, although web-based stores are convenient for consumers, they bring negative consequences for manufacturers as it reduces their competitive advantages with other brands. Take Converse, for example, the company has to cut off many of their headquarters which was their number one advantage with other rivals with the appearance of online shopping. As a result, sellers may suffer from profit reduction with this arising issue. Furthermore, online shopping seems affordable for buyers as they have numerous vouchers or discount codes that are appealing. Take Shoppe, for example, customers can acquire hundreds of discount codes through several Black Fridays or transactions. This may affect customer intention for shopping offline, especially on the high street.

In conclusion, having considered the main reason for the disappearance of high street shops, I believe that it is a negative development. This is because online shopping platforms are very global nowadays.