According to statistics from the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), the birth of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) in 1989 has led to many outstanding positive results such as a 75% reduction in mortality rate, increase the number of children going to school by 10% (UNICEF, 2019). However, sadly, in an influential region like ASEAN, member country Myanmar signed the Convention in 1991 but still cannot ensure the rights of children when allowing them to participate in conflicts due to the current situation. politically unstable with six civil wars and countless interstate conflicts since its establishment in 1948 (Maizland, 2022). Faced with this situation, the article uses a qualitative method of collecting, analyzing, and confronting the UNCRC legal framework to answer the research question of how the forced and used child soldiers have violated the law.

The problem of child abuse during Myanmar's civil wars has existed since 1948 (Cadena, 2021) and is so serious that this was once the country with the highest rate of child soldiers in the world (HRW, 2002). ). According to Human Rights Watch (HRW), about 70,000 children aged 12 to under 18 were forced to serve in the armies of warring factions competing for national leadership (HRW, 2002). After facing opposition from the UN and related organizations, Myanmar has introduced age regulations as well as standards for joining the military. During the 2021 Coup in this country, only 280 child soldiers were recorded (UN, 2022). However, it is still impossible to accurately quantify the number because Myanmar refuses all access efforts from countries and international organizations and has many acts to hide or deliberately circumvent the law to legalize children’s participation in the war (Li & Lignier, 2024).

Established in 1989, UNCRC has the role of protecting the rights of all children in all aspects of life with legal constraints. Therefore, the use of child soldiers in the war in Myanmar seriously violated Part I of this Convention, and the article will analyze based on each stage of children's participation in the armed forces. Beginning with the 'recruitment' phase, the majority of children targeted were under the minimum age of 15 years of involvement in war, as mentioned in Article 19. They were forcibly removed from their families by inhumane forms such as enticement with money, kidnapping, coercion, or threats of imprisonment (Bhattacharyya, 2023). This act of separating children from their unwanted families and depriving them of the opportunity to be raised by their families without receiving special care from the government is a violation of Articles 5, 9, 16, 18 & 37. Once in the harsh military environment, these children are forced and exploited to participate in logistical work at military barracks, and military training or even directly commit acts of violence. against humanity on the battlefield as a warrior (Bhattacharyya, 2023) violates Articles 32, 36 & 38. At the same time, participating in civil war also deprives children of the conditions to develop their thinking, and access to education as well as information, seriously hindering the process of forming and expressing opinions mentioned in Articles 12, 13, 17, 27, 28 & 29. Being on the front lines is full of dangers and enemies. enemy, these young soldiers are not guaranteed time to rest, play, associate, and assemble freely and peacefully, violating Articles 15 & 31. During their military service, children are not given priority in ensuring nutrition and physical and mental health, and they even face injuries, disability, and death in violation of Articles 3, 6, 20, 24 & 25. After When they complete their military service, they may be unlucky enough to suffer from disabilities or psychological scars, making it difficult to reintegrate into the community. Myanmar does not have special support and also has harsh actions. To silence them to save face violates Articles 21 & 39.

Through the process of comparing the current situation of the problem with the international legal framework, Myanmar's crime of using children during the civil war violated 24 out of 47 Articles of Part I of the UNCRC. Children who are victims of this problem are not guaranteed basic developmental rights but are also at high risk of injury or even death. Despite facing international opposition, Myanmar chose to ignore it to continue competing for power between factions. Furthermore, the country also refuses humanitarian aid to prevent vulnerable people such as children from accessing help (Li, 2024). Although ASEAN has also taken steps to protest the civil war in Myanmar, it has not yet taken specific and effective actions targeting children.