According to those in the travel business, the nature of the average ‘holiday’ is changing. Rather than seeking a relaxing break in a far-away place, people now want excitement on their holidays and are keen to participate in unusual and challenging activities.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many people working in the tourism industry argue that the way of having holiday and relaxing are transforming as people are looking for adventurous and unique activities rather than spending their vacations in peaceful countryside. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

On one hand, along with globalization, people have to cope with heavy workloads and rarely have time for relaxation, even if they have, it’s just a short vacation within two or three days at most. Moreover, people are obsessed with work and hardly can they arrange for a long vacation. For this reason, people don’t want to spend time and money on a luxurious, relaxing break at a five-star hotel in a far-away country. Instead, they prefer to take part in some sports such as bungee, scuba diving or skydiving, which are more exciting and money-saving.

On the other hand, nowadays, the young generation is filled with YOLO spirit, which means You Only Live Once or live life to its fullest. Hence, adventure holidays come to them as innovative solutions to experience life and escape from boring work life. Participants are often seeking dangerous sports that bring a sort of thrills, which they can not get in ordinary life. Furthermore, activities like rock climbing or trekking not only bring physical exercise but also mental refreshment, which can energize the body and mind for better performance.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly agree that people are keen on joining special and challenging holidays rather than taking traditional vacations.