Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Advertisements, is a common instruments for promoting one's images and offerings, are widely used by individuals and organisations nowadays. In my opinion, the utilization of the marketing tool has both negative and positive impacts which will be elaborated below.

There are many benefits associated with adverts namely provision of products information, making products popular among targeted customers and opening up many job opportunities for people. Firstly, the fundamental function of advertising is to supply the data relevant to goods towards potential buyers. This can be implemented by increasing the exposure of the customers to particular product and service or individuals through TV chanel, magazine, internet platforms and so forth. By doing so, individuals and economic organisations can raise their brand image awareness or encourage the sales of certain goods. This enables these parties to build their trust with customers or gain monetary values in later selling process. In addition, advertisement as an industry creates a wide range of jobs for people. Photographers, content creators, designers are professionals who capitalise on the sector and make their living. Thus, advertising not only benefits the economy as a whole but employs many workers.

Apart from merits, advertisements cause certain disturbance to people. The first effect is that some people are overexploiting adverts in order to encourage impulsive buying behavior. Banner, signage, and unique selling points are depoyed together to manipulate clients into buying the merchandises they do not need. The phenomenon happens regularly among the young, as they are less price sensitive and easier to be impacted than their older counterparts. Likewise, certain advertised videos or news try to give products an exaggerated account which may subsequently result in the detrimental impacts on users' health. This is especially the case for medicines and medical treatment, with which providers often depict their ability to cure patient's illnesses even for uncurable disease such as cancer. As a consequence, customers of these drugs and medical services, who are desparate of sickness, would buy them and hope to get recovered. Therefore, the overuse of advertisement could lead to dire consequences for many sick people.

In sum, advertisements have both merits and drawbacks. I believe people should stay alert and look up the relavent information before buying.