Alcohol consumption should be banned in poor or under-developed countries. Do you Agree/Disagree?

Although alcohol is a vice and it often leads to addiction, but drinking alcohol cannot be totally banned in the third world countries. In my opinion banning the alcohol may not be the sole option for regulating its consumption for various reasons which will be discussed in the foregoing paragraphs.

One of the main factors which contributes to the continuous sale of alcohol, is the revenue generation it offers to the nation's economy.For instance, during the lockdown imposed in light of the corona virus pandemic when the lock down was partially lifted and the liquor shops opened, people in the state of Delhi thronged at these shops to buy liquor, despite high taxes imposed on the same. In addition to the aforesaid, it also helps in the employment generation aspect thus helping the unemployed masses in the country.Moreover, alcohol also acts as an enticing aspect for the tourism sector in any nation.Alcohol is not only consumed for recreational purposes but it is also used for medicinal purposes namely in the cough syrups and in hand sanitizers. Hence, the aforestated reasons may give an impetus for the sale of alcohol in any country, boosting its economy.

On the other hand, alcohol consumption in inadequate quantities leads to addiction problem which is in turn is often linked to the crimes in any country.Even though when a liquor ban is imposed, it is observed that it gives rise to problems of boot-legging and history shows us that there have been plethora of cases of hooch-tragedy wherein many people have even lost their lives.Thus, implementation of regulations to mitigate these incidents can be adopted which may include some of the few like licenses for sale, drinking age permit, permit limit in terms of quantity,no drink & drive rule, dry days and creating awareness among the masses.

To conclude, it may be said, even though the pros of restraining the ban on alcohol consumption in terms of financial aspect for a country as a whole outweighs the cons in terms of the deleterious impact it has on the human health, ultimately it boils down to an individual in making a rational decision for himself/herself.