For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.

What is the importance of learning to play a musical instrument for a child?

The value of mastery over musical instruments has attracted notable interest in recent times. Such significance has even been considered on par with the importance of literacy to all young children. Whilst the positive impact is well recorded, as will be elucidated in this essay, the comparison to reading and writing only holds truth to a few cases.

Indeed, learning how to play musical instruments aid children in a multitude of ways. Reducing stress is arguably the most popular and relatable reason for people’s interest in this activity. However, playing instruments such as the guitar or banjo can also enhance a child’s dexterity, rhythm sensing and quite possibly, their memory capacity. Moreover, for those who have an affinity for music, this is a great activity for them to explore and nurture their musical talents. It was thanks to such recognition that talents such as Beethoven and Mozart were groomed to become incredible composers, creating songs that could stand the test of time.

However, these boons cannot justifiably uplift playing a musical instrument to the level of literacy. Firstly, while reading and writing could evidently be taught to anyone, mastering an instrument requires some innate talent. Making all young ones learn to play a musical instrument may entail additional stress on them as they are coerced to learn a new skill and struggle throughout. Still, for those with prodigious talents, advocacy for nurturing musical talent is understandable. What is more, in modern society, literacy skills are of paramount importance, utilized in multiple contexts. Examples for this range from practical uses in reading maps, composing emails, texting to guaranteeing academic progress through completing exams and extracting information from scientific materials. Thus, the multidimensional functions of reading and writing abilities provide a solid foundation for young pupils later on as they can advance their study further and gain necessary qualifications for their jobs.

In conclusion, although playing a musical instrument should be supported, its impact is not far-reaching enough to be considered equal to literacy skill. Instead, it should be treated as a secondary skill, along with activities such as playing football or knitting.