All high school students should be encouraged to take part in community service programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days the tendency of participating in volunteering activities is increasing all of the time so there are many good reasons why those high school students should be stimulated to stick to this kind of program. That means we can all improve fundamental life skills and contribute to the development of society. However, there may also be some problems with this opinion that we had better consider them.

It is inevitable that community service provides a great number of benefits for student’s growth. There is mounting evidence that students are becoming alienated and bored by rigid school curriculum. In contrast, this method applies what we have learnt in the classroom to the real world, which offers a more engaging and dynamic experience. As a result, the opportunity to customize learning sequences for students will make education more productive. In addition, volunteering allows students to get directly involved to their communities. For instance, if there is a catastrophic disaster in their areas, volunteers are willing to help the inhabitants by supplying many essential items or rebuilding their houses.

Nevertheless, not only are the participants not given any incentives, but they are treated unfairly as well. Many people take for granted that voluntary students have to protect the environment and help the elderly. That makes they feel frustrated when their efforts are not recognized. Moreover, they have to travel to many places so they spend less time for parents, which may threaten the unity of the family.

To sum up, students get many advantages from attending this program but they should think carefully before deciding it, and this might depend on how passionate they are.