All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same number of holidays in a year or people doing different jobs enjoy different amount of holiday time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, workplace equality from the perspective of holidays granted has taken center stage. While some are saying that everyone working for an organization should be provided with the same number of off days, others argue that personnel doing different kind of jobs must obtain different number of holidays. I completely agree with the latter and will bolster my opinion in this essay with relevant examples.

Firstly, different type of job profiles entail different degrees of pressure, which in turn result in different ranges of vacation days. That is, the amount of mental / physical pressure would depend on the job the person does. So if one was to do a high pressure job, he/she would require more number of days to recuperate. In contrast, if a person was doing a menial or redundant job, the need for time to unwind would drop steeply. For example, in a hospital, the pressure that in on the shoulders of a surgeon is significantly higher than on who is in billing thus requiring the surgeon to take more vacation days.

In addition, the number of vacation days also depends on the business vertical that the employee is part of. To elaborate, the class of work an employee does restricts his or her ability to take vacation on days that would usually be considered a holiday. For example, call center executives who work on a 24 x 7 shift, serving clients from another timezone would not be able to take holidays regularly and on days which are considered as a local holiday. Further more if the job profile is business critical, taking a vacation on certain days would not be practical as the job would require them to work on holiday season. For examples sales representatives of supermarkets work more on Christmas day when people go rampant on shopping.

In conclusion, the varying pressure the personnel of a company would take and also the type of business he / she is associated with would determine the number of holidays provided to the employee thus building a system where employee with different jobs get different quantity of holidays.