Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private lives?

Celebrities’ privacy has long been a scorchingly debated issue in the public, and a majority of them feel that their personal life is being too much exposed and invaded by the media. From my viewpoint, unfair as it may seem, being in the public eye is an inevitable part of the lifestyle they sign up for.

First of all, it is unfair for the social media to penetrate deeply into well-known individuals’ private lives. Specifically, with the increasing popularity of internet users, the press nowadays dominates various types of social network such as e-newspaper, TV, or Facebook. For example, a news about a celebrity’s private love affair can go viral within seconds and attract more attention than any news of their temporary masterpiece. However, public figures want the public to pay more attention to their social life, current workpieces or the prestigious awards in the field they have been working at. They are ordinary people in terms of private life, and they have the basic human right to keep it as a secret as anyone else. Therefore, being exposed to public criticism for their personal affairs seems to be inappropriate and offensive. Moreover, rising to stardom means a celeb has to undergo enormous mental stress as they always have to be alert of paparazzis or stalkers, who are eager to find an opportunity to damage their public image and push them into hardship . Just a moment of carelessness can make their entire career vanish completely.

However, I agree that living in a celebrity world has its price, which is a loss of privacy. Firstly, famous people are presented with a valuable gift of society’s love, respect and attention, which decent people never have a chance to receive. The line between being focused on and being invaded is often murky, and sometimes their private life exposure by the media is something unavoidable. Secondly, it is celebrity’s responsibility to maintain their image in front of the public, so leading an exemplary and innocent life is a way of responding love towards their fans and supporters. Therefore, compared to all the fame, love and materials celebrities achieve, having their personal lives exposed to the public can be considered a trivial downside.

All in all, I believe that even though people with fame may be annoyed by the media revelation of their private affairs, it is no doubt a trade-off for being popular.