Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given
more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invastion into their private
life?
It is evident the nature of media has rapidly evolved over the past few
years, reshaping the way media companies do business. However, the
fact that celebrities’ privacy is at stake is just one of many inevitable
products of fame that have been long acknowledged.
First, unlike one single media channel, the pool of media should be
considered reasonably fair as many channels are simultaneously
participating to offer varying or even contradicting opinions. In fact, the
increased availability of media channels has reached the point where
information efficiency is achieved. The implication of this is that famous
people should be expecting even more fairness treatment now and down
the road. Also of importance is the fact that any libel or slander against
famous people are done by the media can be easily brought to trial,
resulting in significant liabilities for the media. This, thereby, acts as a
disincentive for media corporations from failing to meet the industry
standards on privacy issue, especially when it involves celebrities.
It should be acknowledged that fame and media attention are tied to one
another. Celebrities should expect a reasonable level of intrusion upon
seclusion and biases from the media since those are recognized
products of fame. This suggests that the media and celebrities share the
responsibility on privacy issue rather than attributing all the blames to the
media. In fact, with an increase in public exposure, the responsibility held
by public figures should be set even higher than otherwise. Thus, famous
ones should not be infuriated simply because the media is doing its
regular job.
In conclusion, famous people are treated fairly by the press since it is
getting increasingly harder for the media to cross the line nowadays. It is
safe to say acknowledging the celebrities’ higher privacy responsibility
associated with fame is key to finding the common ground between the
media and celebrities on this subject matter.