Art classes, like painting and drawing, are not as important as other subjects, so some people think that it should not be a compulsory subject at high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that there are other subjects that are more critical than art, and therefore art should only be a selective subject at secondary school. This essay will explain why I do not support such view.

Some people may argue that compulsory subjects at high school should not include art for two reasons. They may believe that subjects like computer science are more important than art because computer technologies has significantly improved our quality of life and changed the way we live in the past few decades. Furthermore, people may perceive art classes only involving drawing pictures that may not demonstrate any value in their daily lives. As a result, it is seen as a less valuable subject.

On the other hand, I believe that art is a vital subject for many students, and it should stay as a compulsory subject at high school for two major reasons. The first reason is that art is a subject interrelated to different aspects of our lives, and students can benefit from taking art classes. For example, through learning different fashion trends and colour matching skills from art classes, pupils can dress to express themselves and present their own identities through art. The second reason is that the understanding of art, and the ability of appreciating beautiful things learned from art classes are required by many jobs. For instant, almost all products that we can think of including clothing, vehicles and luxury goods in the market today are designed by designers who understand art and can create products that are not only functional but also look appealing for their customers.

To conclude, art should remain as a compulsory subject at high school because it is more than just painting at class and it can benefit its learners in different ways. That is because art is an important subject that allows students to better express themselves and equipping them practical skills for their future careers.