Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

I agree that art-related subjects are of great importance to the development of children. However, this does not mean that these courses should be supplemented into the formal curriculum of high schools due to certain reasons which will be discussed below.

It is clear that art subjects make an equal contribution to the growth of a child compared to other subjects. By studying art courses, children may enrich their souls and strengthen their spiritual life. To take my younger sister who has been studying art classes for two years as an example, she shared that her drawing class has not only enhanced her artistic skills and creativity but it has also helped her in perceiving life from different angles, facilitating her ambition to be an artist in the future. In contrast, other subjects such as computer science and business may engender more job opportunities to leaners after they graduate from schools, but life would be meaningless if people spent all their time working and neglected recreational activities like painting or drawing.

Despite the foregoing arguments, I firmly believe that art subjects should be made optional rather than mandatory because of potential detrimental impact on students. Firstly, students who neither have a flair for nor interests in drawing often find this subject struggling; therefore, if they were obligated to engage in this subject, they would feel more pressure which can deteriorate their psychological health. Secondly, the price of most art courses seem to be prohibitively expensive which would engender a financial burden to students’ families.

In conclusion, although art classes can benefit students in certain aspects, high school students should not be required to attend these classes. Alternatively, high schools should make these subjects optionally available to their students.