Arts including art music and theatre are considered to be important in society Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyle Should the art be included in the school programs

Creative pleasures such as viewing fine arts, listening to music and watching a play are treated by many as enjoyable and essential as part of their everyday living. Firstly this essay will discuss how the arts are a crucial element in most people’s lives and secondly will discuss how it is vital that creative subjects are included in the school’s curriculum.

Firstly, the creative arts, such as paintings, sculptures, music and theatre have a long and ardent history throughout the ages. They have grown and evolved with the times, appealing to new generations every year, in order to keep being a part of everyday life. People enjoy the arts, often as an escape from their lives, listening to music they enjoy, going to see a play with friends or visiting galleries and museums to see paintings, photography or sculptures. For example, a study from the New York Times in 2017 showed that over 75% of New Yorkers said that they regularly visited the cities art galleries, museums and theatres. A further 35% said that they donated money regularly to art societies, for the preservation of the collections, so they can continue for many years to come.

Secondly, many people develop a love for the arts early in life, when they are at school. In my opinion, I think that a range of arts subjects should be included in the school curriculum, as not all students are ‘left brained’ enjoying logical, core subjects like mathematics. Others are more ‘right brained’ where they enjoy being creative, whether that is in writing, painting or making music. Children should be encouraged to find their talents at school and develop them for their own enjoyment and advancement. For instance, St. Cuthberts school in the north of England dedicated 40% of the curriculum of creative subjects, including fine art, pottery, music, drama and dance. Those subjects proved to enhance school results by over 25% in 2017.

In conclusion, there are clear benefits to individuals who are passionate about the arts and find enjoyment in them regularly. If more people tried to become involved in the arts, then perhaps they would find a way to allow themselves time to become creative or to relax, while learning something new.