Because some children don't have the natural ability to learn language, school should not force them to learn foreign language. Agree or disagree?

Learning languages is certainly a topic of debate. While many people believe that children who don’t have a talent for studying language should not be obliged to learn it, some think otherwise. In my opinion, learning new languages could bring about several benefits to those children in their academic and career paths.

Granted, one might argue that children should not be compelled to learn foreign languages. This is predicated on the assumption that those who don’t have natural ability must spend much time absorbing language-related concepts such as grammar, vocabulary, or sentence structure. Language lessons for them, therefore, would be tedious and dreary, which later can result in their absence from those classes or even the school. However, this line of reasons is not sound because not having a talent for a field doesn’t mean not having the ability to get success in that area. This is because by adjusting the approach to language study, the result, therefore, could be changed. For example, the conventional teaching style which is writing terms on the blackboard and force children to learn by heart could be changed to indirect learning with Youtube videos or films, which is far more appealing and attractive.

I am convinced that it is necessary for children to be required to study foreign languages because of several advantages it involved. First, by knowing different languages, children could approach a wide range of foreign documents that pertain to several subjects. This would help them a lot in doing research or comprehending some concepts. Furthermore, being able to use different languages open up more job opportunities for children in the future. For example, foreign companies which are likely to pay employees much money always set languages as one of the foremost requirements to be recruited. Knowing languages, therefore, become a must.

In conclusion, although one’s talent contributes to the ability to learn languages, it is possible to help children by modifying the approaches to that subject. It is worthy of the work and effort to study it, because of the benefits children could reap from it.