The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic is overloaded in a number of cities around the world. Some people argue that the most efficient strategy to deal with traffic jam is to introduce free public transport system. In spite I agree this opinion in some extent, I believe that there are some other solutions to traffic congestion.

Indeed, freeing public transportation does motivate people to shift form their private cars to buses, metros and trains thanks to its economic effect. Therefore, as more people use public transports, the vehicles on the roads will be much less.

In my view, traffic congestion can also be alleviated by ameliorating the services of public transportation. One of the most fundamental reasons that people choose to use cars is that buses cannot take them to the places directly. Lunching more routes and introducing more bus stops would increase the popularity of public transport and reduce traffic in cities. Moreover, other approaches such as providing facilities for disabled people can advance the convenience of public transports. Satisfying the service of public transportation, people will be more enjoyable during the trip and take more public vehicles.

In addition to the provision of superior public transport, traffic congestion can be settled by progressing the infrastructures such as roads. More specifically, more roads should be built by government and more lanes should be introduced. By increasing the capacity of roads, more vehicles are allowed to run at the same time and traffic can be smoother. According to some report, cities with most crucial traffic issue always have out of time roads systems.

In summary, free public transportation cannot completely solve the problem of traffic congestion. To have a better traveling experience, a more convenient public transportation and better infrastructure are also needed.