The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Long traffic jams have become a serious problem which is faced by most big cities around the world. Some people assert that in order to tackle this issue the finest measure is providing transportation to the public all day, every day. I completely disagree with this notion because I don't believe that it is a viable solution to provide free of charge transportation to everyone all the time as this option seems extravagant and unnecessary, however, a better alternative can

be the introduction of subsidized public buses and trains during the rush hours.

First of all, although the idea of free of charge transportation is attractive to the citizens in general, it is not affordable by the government. A huge amount of expenditure from the public budget is required to provide this facility all 24 hours everyday, while there are several other sectors which need money such as education, healthcare, etc. Also, an around the clock free public transport system is definitely not a solution to traffic congestion either due to the fact that commuters would not always use the free facility. Most individuals, for instance, who are used to having a luxurious and comfortable lifestyle would still like to ride in their own expensive private cars, which is the main reason for the increasing rise in traffic problems. Moreover, there would only be a handful of passengers using these free buses during the late night and early morning hours. Therefore, it would be a total waste of public funds by the government to provide such a free service.

Secondly, a more acceptable and feasible solution, in my opinion, is that the authorities should introduce subsidized comfortable air-conditioned public buses on major routes during school and office hours. Majority of students and nine to five workers would like to avail this facility for a cheap price instead of driving themselves to their destinations. This strategy could reduce some of the traffic on the busiest roads during peak hours gradually but it does not require an

extensive budget to run a free transport system for every hour of the day.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that the increasingly frustrating issue of traffic congestion can only be tackled by the introduction of a 24 hour free public transport system because it would be an unwise decision by the government to provide such a facility for the citizens as it will be excessively costly and would also be ineffective as many people will still use their own means of transportation. Hence, the authorities should take some effective alternative measures to solve the traffic congestion problem.