The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, providing free public transit all the time has been considered as one of the most effective ways to reduce traffic congestion problem. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea.

On the one hand, operating public transportation network day by day is not really necessary. Actually, overcrowded road is merely happened at specific time, depending on the time of working. At night or breaking dawn, the number of commuters moving on road is lessened and as the result, lots of public vehicles are not able to be used. For example, in some municipal cites of Vietnam, roads usually are overloaded in the morning and evening, at the time when people go to work and come back home. However, not many Vietnamese people obligatorily go outside at night, thus most public busses contain no passenger after 10pm.

On the other hand, supporting public transport without any charge is truly not an effective measure for economy development. Residents may be required to pay more taxes for transportation services, which they even hardly to use due to its inconvenience and time consuming. I therefore believe that, Governments should spent budget for other essential fields such as education, health care or traffic infrastructure construction instead of investing in free transport network.

To conclude, in my perspective, providing public transportation vehicles with no cost day after day is inevitably unnecessary and is not a satisfactory solution to tackle the congestion issue.