The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people agree that traffic and pollution issues would be best tackled by higher prices of gas.While I accept this policy to some extent, I believe it is not the best because there are more reasonable alternatives.

On the one hand, raising the prices of fuel will directly discourage the utilization of private vehicles and promote the popularity of public transports.As a result, less emission will be released into the atmosphere. The process of air pollution and global warming will also be impeded. Additionally, due to higher cost of gasoline, the citizens might have to use it efficiently and economically. For example, during cold seasons, the Europeans will learn how to cope with the weather and turn on the heater when necessary. Most importantly, the price of fuel is proportionate to higher cost of production. This also means inhabitants in poverty-stricken countries, may have to struggle with more expensive goods.

On the other hand, there are better methods than forcing people to spend more money. The governments should invest greatly on conducting research and developing technology to use renewable energy resources including wind, solar and tidal energy instead of conventional resources.Therefore less damage will be done to our environment and the quality of life will improve considerably.

In conclusion, it is not always necessary to increase the cost of energy, especially fuel, I believe there are more effective ways to protect our surroundings.