car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.how true do you think this statement is?what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The trend of purchasing a motor vehicle has significantly increased in the last three decades due to easy access to finance and cheaper available brands in the market. Although this brings convenience to the lives of the general public but this inexorable trend is resulting in traffic congestion in the metropolis around the world. I completely agree that mass car possession is primarily the reason for traffic jams and lawmakers can address this problem by introducing reasonable alternatives for transportation.

The hassle-free ownership programs offered by car manufacturers in collaboration with banks tempt the people to purchase the car. As a result, the cars on road are beyond the capacity of infrastructure and often results in the overcrowded road, especially during the peak hours. For instance, in Tokyo, office workers spend an average of 1.5 hours in traffic queues while commuting to the office.

To tackle the traffic issues, legislators need to enact certain laws to reduce the number of cars on the road. The most important measure is to make car possession less affordable by imposing tax and fuel surcharge, however, the government must make sure to provide cheaper alternatives else all these measures would result in strong resistance from the public. Furthermore, the government can run an awareness campaign to educate the dwellers of the impact of cars on the environment.

To conclude, although many major cities are struggling to control the traffic on road due to the overflow, authorities can tackle this pressing issue by imposing charges, ensuring the availability of cheaper transportation options and running the awareness programs for a clean environment.