Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The growing global economy leads to increased need from residents for amenities, and owning a private car is no exception. As a result, the previous several decades have seen tremendous rise in demand for private vehicles. In my opinion, I absolutely agree with the above statement, and governments may certainly launch some suggesting measures to tackle this threat.

To begin, it is apparent that the number of personally owned vehicles is directly linked to traffic jams. To put it more plainly, increased car ownership has led to increased traffic volumes, especially during rush hours, and it has left many cities facing challenges in road management, parking as well as traffic safety. Typical examples are some capitals of developing countries such as Hanoi or Manila. However, there are also some cities that have been able to manage the problem of traffic congestion through effective urban planning but it is just a minority.

Authorities can take some measures to discourage people from using cars, which can help reduce traffic congestion. Firstly, in order to persuade people to utilize public transit rather than driving their own cars, cities should upgrade public transportation systems, such as efficient bus and subway services, … Secondly, policies that restrict automobile ownership and use, such as higher taxes, tolls, and parking fees, should be implemented. Furthermore, alternative forms of transportations , like bicycles and walking should be promoted by providing bicycle and pedestrian-friendly infrastructure.

In conclusion, while this statement is true for most metropolitan areas nowadays, administrations may take proper actions to prevent cities to become a "one big traffic jam."