Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before.

What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

It is common nowadays for children to spend hours watching television. From my perspective, watching TV excessively can have negative impacts on both children's physical and mental development and young children should have a time limit for their screen time

Long hours of watching TV can lead to serious health issues in children, such as deteriorating vision, chronic neck and back problems and obesity. Too much screen time can lead to poor posture which results in chronic neck and back pain, whereas sitting in front of a screen for too long could lead to a more sedentary lifestyle in the future which in turn results in obesity. In addition to health issues, excessive screen time could also affect a child's mental development. All the time spent in front of the TV could lead to an increase in suicidal behavior and lower one's ability to read emotions.

Because of the negative effects TV has on children, it is better to limit children's screen time. While it is difficult to do so, there are several ways in which parents could help to reduce their kids' watching time. First, parents could use parental controls to set daily screen time limit that can lock their children out of apps after they reached a set amount of time. Moreover, parents should also encourage their children to get involved in other activities that don't require a screen like playing sports, reading books or playing board games.

In conclusion, excessive TV watching can lead to various problems in children's development such as health issues and , therefore, we should limit their screen time.