Children who grow up in families which are short of money are better prepared with the problems of adult life than children who are brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Of those elements that bear a considerable influence on children's personal development, one of the most influential is family background. There is a perception that the children who grow up in an impoverished family are more capable of solving problems than those from an affluent family. In my opinion, it might not always be the case.

One's problem-solving abilities are mainly derived from the knowledge and experience obtained during his or her adolescence.Not surprisingly, children from poor families are less likely to maximise their education. First of all, their parents are unwilling to select a reputable school for them, as tuition fees can take up a large proportion of family income. Another reason is that education, in general, requires devoted time and energy, but many children have to work from an early age in order to supplement their parents' income. Because of their poor educational background, they do not have specialised knowledge in solving problems as required in a specific area of work. They are thus at a severe disadvantage in problem-solving in a working environment.

Another problem that plagues the children from less advantaged backgrounds is their limited access to financial support and expert guidance. Children with highly educated and rich parents are more likely to be better off economically, not only because they have sufficient financial backup but also because they can easily seek the support from others, for example, the friends of their parents, professionals in different occupations. It is true that compared with disadvantaged children, children from medium or high-class families have many more opportunities to attend social functions like balls,banquets, and so forth, where they improve social skills, learn professional etiquettes and consolidate their social network. With a larger social network, they are at an advantage in problem-solving.

As discussed above, while children from a poor background are normally socially inept and less knowledgeable, those from middle or upper class families have easy access to resources. These distinctions corroborate the assertion that family background has undisputed impacts on children's problem solving abilities.