computers can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is waste of time to learn a foreign language.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, new technologies, such as the internet, computers, and smartphones have become an integral part of our lives and make our life more easy and convenient. one of these new technologies is machine translation that could produce texts that are readable and understandable to some extent, and they are getting better. So there are some people who believe that with these new developments, there is no need in learning new languages in the near future. I completely disagree with this view.

To begin with, firstly, being bilingual or multilingual have several benefits. Learning a second language is a great way to keep our brain healthy and sharp. It could help a person’s ability of multi-tasking skills, attention control, problem-solving, and creativity as it could promote outside-the-box thinking. Recent studies reveal that bilingual people’s brains age more slowly and therefore, they live longer and more satisfying. It is widely recognized that being bilingual can delay neurological diseases like Alzheimer’s.

Secondly, language has more important purposes than translations, the most important reason why people decide to learn a foreign language is that makes them able to communicate with people (#with) of different nationalities. Learning new languages enables them to understand new cultures and establish closer links with local people. However, even the best translation software could not translate cultures. Each culture has different lexical, like slangs, idioms, and proper nouns that are unique to that specific culture, however, computers are not able to understand and recognize them. computers also could not help foreigners to communicate with native people because they could not analys tone of voice body language also directly inform a speaker’s intent.

In conclusion, learning a second language is very beneficial for the social and individual development of the people. I disagree with the idea that computers will be able to eliminate the need of learning foreign languages because of important applications of language and machine errors.