As computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of powerful computing machines, the computer-based translation has amazingly become precise and swift. While some people are of the notion that this revolutionary advancement eliminated the necessity of learning a foreign language, I think the lack of power-efficient portable translators and the negligible amount of knowledge regarding the relationship among diverse languages are two most significant obstacles that impede the widespread use of this technology. This essay will discuss the reasons why we still need to learn other languages.

Learning a foreign language, particularly a global language, is vital for every individual in this globalized world. To begin with, from a technological perspective, most of the modern translator applications properly work on offline data such as text in books, journals, or papers. Not only do these machines require a high amount of computational and electrical power to instantaneously translate the conversation among people, which makes them ineffective for commuters, but they also are too bulky and massive to carry everywhere. As a case in point, tourists and international journalists are two major groups of people who need to make a conversation with foreigners, and so far as this hindrance problem exists, they will not be able to establish an effective communication with people in other countries.

Secondly, in order to develop an unerring translator algorithm, a deep understanding of different languages is crucial. It is clear that every language has its own rules and grammar, and defining a global rule to cover whole languages throughout the world is quite impractical. As a consequence, studying the relationships among the languages, especially the grammar, not only is not a waste of time, but it also is mandatory for scientists developing a translator software. As an illustration, idioms are the most complicated part of a particular language, which their meaning is completely different from their literal translation. As a result, without a deep knowledge of other languages, designing a practical application would be almost impossible.

Considering all above-mentioned, although some people hold the idea that learning another language is useless, from my personal standpoint, this technology has been immature yet and human knowledge would be irreplaceable in the near future.