Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalization has ushered an era of consumerism and that has inevitably become part and parcel of people’s life. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this approach and provide a suitable conclusion.

On the positive side, the quest for consumer goods boosts the economy and the standard of living. This leads to a more luxurious and comfortable life. In addition, it helps in improving the labor productivity as people tend to work more to increase their purchasing power. Further, the company gets to appoint more employees to meet the growing demands; thereby increasing the work opportunities and leading to a more advanced economy.

Roses and thorns are known to coexist and this situation is no different. Consumerism tends to make people more materialistic, or in other words, they become workaholic. It will also bring additional tension and stress, thereby affecting the mental status of the person. Another drawback is regarding the health. For example, the overuse of mobile phones can lead to neural disorders as it emits radio waves that can interfere with the neural mechanism of the body. Another important factor is that people may not hesitate in doing illegitimate work to buy the goods they want.

Consumerism is undoubtedly rife in modern society. The mass production of luxury goods, the saturation of media with advertisements and promotions for branded products and services, and even rising levels of personal debts signal that more people are buying goods excessively.

In conclusion, consumer goods seem to be an integral part of a person’s everyday life. But considering the presented facts, I believe that this dependence certainly brings more harm than good.