In some countries, the criminal trials are shown on the TV and the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undoubtedly the case that whether the criminal trials should be shown on TV or not has became a controversial topic. My view is that there are more benefits than drawbacks and in this essay I will explain why.

The first point to make is that there are some downsides to showing criminal trials on TV, but these are relatively minor. The most significant of the disadvantages is that it can probably lead to a lot of imitation of crime. For instance, when watching live criminal trials on TV, many details of criminal offenses such as killing, embezzling and cheating would be presented, which may lead to involuntary imitation and became a promotion of these crimes. Typically, however, this is only actions of a few men and does not seriously threaten national security.

When we turn to other side of the argument, there are two major points to make in favor of this action. The first of these is that TV trails could bring down the crime rate. For example, people may be fearful of their faces shown on TV after they committed crimes because it is generally considered to be a disgrace to his or her family and community, so that they may require serious thought before they commit offences. Meanwhile, aware that they are watched by the general public, the lawyer and judges may have to make sure that the law is followed strictly, and justice is done to the highest standards.

In conclusion, I understand the point of view of people who worry about showing criminal trials on TV because it is a treat to criminals’ privacy. However, this is outweighed by its positive impact on reducing crime rate and the fact that it contributes to impartial trails.