Consumers are faced with increasing Numbers of ads from competing companies. To what extend do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Fierce competition among companies has driven advertisements to appear excessively on mainstream channels. In my opinion, it may affect consumers in a number of ways and feasible measures should be implemented to protect them from negative effects.

Product users who excessively expose to company commercials are either overwhelmed or likely to make wrong purchases. Regarding the former, local brands which are seemingly common in clothing styles, for example, make an attempt to popularize their products with the aim of beating other opponents to become the best-seller. Consequently, the widespread coverage of similar advertisements renders customers susceptible to advertising overload, leading to even the counter-effects where the targeted is no longer interested in those products. As regards the false purchases consequence, companies create a number of advertisements including exaggerated information and attractive sound or visual effects to promote sales and attract customers. However, customers have a propensity to buy inferior products as a result of misleading content, leading to them discarding unwanted products and a throw-away society consequently.

To protect the customers, the government is encouraged to exercise rigorous censorship on those advertisements for the sake of a better experience on mainstream channels and the assurance for accurate information conveyed to viewers. Moreover, several laws are enacted to limit platforms that companies use to broadcast their advertisements or introduce an exclusive period for advertising purposes. Similarly, customers are encouraged to select information carefully and put a certain skeptical weight on advertised products. Therefore, they could make wiser purchasing decisions by reading reviews from previous users.

To briefly conclude, customers are susceptible to overloaded advertisements and make false purchases as a negative effect, whereas the government and customers themselves are responsible for protecting users’ experience.