Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable truth that in recent decades, with the rise in competition there is gradual rise in working hours in most countries. At issue is whether having long average of working hours is beneficial for a country in terms of economy. For all the possible short terms economic benefits that long working hours might have, it would be in all our interest if its long term negative impacts on economic progress were considered more seriously.

Being at work for long hours is sometimes erroneously seen as a good way of driving to a better economic growth. It is sometimes argued that staying at work until late hours, an employee would be able to fulfill more tasks in short space of time, making it more efficient and suitable worker. The fact, however, is that the extended working schedules adversely affect the efficiency and productivity of workers. Being overworked for long period of time can cause many physical and mental problems to employees making them more and more disappointed about their job and their future of the country. Losing productivity and sharpness of the brain as a result of not having enough time to rest and recover, is a telling example in this case along with several physical diseases including obesity, fatigue, muscles and joint problems which cause serious problems to an employee not only at the workplace but also in the personal life.

Other essential factors of driving a successful economy which can improve productivity along with reducing working hours of employees that should be considered instead of increasing work hours. For example, using the new and innovative technology might come across as a costly action at first blush. Be that as it may, using innovative technology such as computers and smart phones and new telecommunication technologies enables companies to increase their performance in producing goods and facilitates communication and cooperation between firms which indeed will help them to have greater income in long term. Adding to this is the fact that investing a proportion of the budget on educating and training employees with the modern science and technologies indeed worth more than forcing them to work overtime.

On balance, a long average working time of a country is not proportional to its economic success but there are some factors like technological development which results to startling growth of a country’s economy.