Criminal programmes and films on TV have become popular. What are the reasons for it and the effect on society? Use examples from your own experience and give reasons for your answer.

It never fails to provoke a controversial topic when it comes to the rising in popularity of crime shows on TV as regards the underlying causes and its social impacts. This essay will examine why this trend has taken shaped and its implications on the society.

There are several reasons why movies featuring criminals hold an appeal to the mass population of TV audiences. One possible contributing factor to this trend may be that people watch these kinds of film so as to understand the mindsets of various types of criminal including murderers, arsonist or rapists with a view to avoid being an ill-fated victim. In fact, almost all crime programs are based on real incidents, hence, by watching those TV shows, people might be updated about the ways different types of crime are committed. Moreover, it is also thought-provoking enough for them to inspect the crime from their own views. Another important reason for this trend lies in the thrilling moments brought about by the audio and visual effects in crime movies apart from the plot and acting.

However, the popularity of such shows has caused some detrimental effects to the society. First and foremost, some people may suffer from the so-called hyperawareness of their surroundings, which make them have senses of unsafety closely associated with the obsessions of the crime scences they have watched. Moreover, such programs on TV has no age-based restrictions so mass population in different age groups are able to watch. Therefore, the daily exposure to crime shows of youngsters could enable their immature manners to outburst including copying and acting out as if they were criminals. In other words, this issue may cause the rising problem of school violence that students tend to deal with their conflicts by violence. As a consequence, when an increasing number of people have violent mindsets, the juvenile deliquency in all societies may witness upward trend.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for the rising in popularity of TV programs about criminals and these types of film is thrilling and interesting to some extent. However, this trend may cause unprecedented effects to the society if immature viewers expose to them constantly.