Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Alternative medicine is not new. It pre-dates conventional medicine and has been followed by wide range of people throughout the world. I am unconvinced that it is dangerous and I feel that both alternative and conventional can be useful.

There are many reasons why alternative medicine is opposed by conventional medical communities. Firstly, there has been no scientific research in conventional medicine, hence there is no evidence for the supporters to claim the benefits of alternative medicine. Secondly, people often try this with recommendations either from friends or family members. After treatment, they come to the therapists with a positive attitude, which might be the prime reason for cure. Moreover, alternative medicine can be used to treat long term and chronic problems but for surgeries, conventional medicine is the only solution.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why alternative medicine was opted by its supporters. Despite the lack of scientific proof, there is a lot of evidence to claim that alternative medicine works. The most important argument is that it does not create any side effects like conventional medicine.

I believe that conventional and alternative medicine should co-exist. Only if both the techniques are used, it will be helpful for mankind to cure most of the deadly diseases.