Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is this not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

It is said that bicycle is one of the most helpful vehicles in environmental conservation, however few people worldwide prefer this kind of transport. There are several reasons for this issue, and some solutions could be proposed to promote the reputation of bicycle

To begin with, the unpopularity of bicycles is due to a number of causes. Firstly, since modern life is getting much busier than in the past, individuals nowadays want to spend as little time on transport as possible. Therefore, they would choose other means of transportation such as motorbikes and cars, which have faster speed. For instance, people would need to wake up sooner to ride bikes to work and sometimes they may skip the breakfast to arrive on time but if they use motorbikes, they would have more time to sleep, have breakfast or even prepare lunch to bring along. Secondly, cycling is more physical demanding than driving other vehicles. Because of this, people will have to deal with sweat and smell when driving bikes. For example, when one is having an essential meeting with senior officials but he arrives sweating profusely all over, it would make a bad impression and would affect working results.

Nonetheless, there are some initiatives that can be applied to solve this problem. One way to deal with this issue is that governments should launch campaigns to raise citizens awareness about the importance of environmental protection and the benefits of cycling. As a result, the community would choose bicycles as their primary means of transport for the sake of the environment and themselves. Another approach is for employers to arrange baths for employees so that they can use them after biking to work. Moreover, companies and schools could implement flexi time, which lets workers and students travel to offices a little bit late so their pressure on time might be decreased and everyone would be more willing to choose cycling.

In conclusion, it is true that the fame of cycling is still low because of some factors. However, if the solutions mentioned above are performed efficiently, the problem would be partly resolved.