cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road causes some problems. What are the problems, what can be done to solve it?

Nowadays, it is common to see cars and bicycles traveling on the same road. This trend lead to several considerable consequences and then it will show some solutions to tackle it.

The fact that car drivers and bikers share the same roadway while traveling may lead to two main problems. First, the possibility of an accident between a car and a bicycle is much higher than when they have their own road, and in case of accidents, the mortality rate could also be greater. Because automobiles are large and able to run very fast, they may kill people when riding bikes, which is more serious than accidents on the street for only bikes. Secondly, people who drive a car would face something inconvenient. To be more specific, they have to wait or drive slow down at the average speed to avoid bikers and not do injures them. This will be late for the driver's car and even uncomfortable.

In order to deal with such problems, there are two solutions that should be taken into consideration. First of all, the government should have some policies that could reduce the risk. It is necessary for the authorities to build special lanes for only bikers and punish people who break the law. For example, automobiles and bikes on most streets in Singapore travel simultaneously on the lanes each of which is designated for both of them. They, therefore, can run at their own speed of choice and avoid effectively the possibility to have life-threatening accidents. As a result, dividing the road into distinct lanes is the most suitable method to handle the situation. Second of all, on roadways that allow both cars and bicycles to travel at the same time, the authorities should strictly limit the maximum speed to as low as 50 kph. While running at such a low speed, drivers can better control their vehicle, the damage would also be less serious.

In conclusion, there are a number of problems with sharing the same road for cars and bicycles and some measures need to tackle this problem.