In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing.

What problems will this cause to individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the modern world, with the rapid development of various aspects to improve the standard of living, an increasing number of people can enjoy a healthy life, leading to more people having high life expectancy. nevertheless, this trend can exert some negative impacts on not only individuals but also society. this essay will analyze the significant problems caused by ageing populations and suggest some viable remedies for this phenomenon.

one of the biggest ageing-related problems confronting the community is the recent escalation of healthcare demand. it is obscure that a substantial amount of diseases concerning ageing, such as heart diseases, stroke, respiratory disease, dementia, and disabilities, make older people require them to be hospitalized daily. Brown (2015) contends that the elderly will suffer from functional decline as long as they can live without morbidity. Being pressured by the lack of caregivers, the young also have to look after their elderly relatives. moreover, increased life expectancy prompts the world to face severe economic outcomes since the number of medical facilities and house staff grows in quantity and quality to meet old patients' requirements. For instance, according to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), japan's health expenditure is projected to reach 12.1 % of gross domestic product (gdp) by 2030, while the EU average in 2017 was 9.9 % (Enrico D'Ambrogio, 2020).

Dealing with this issue involves pertinent policies and programs so citizens can live healthy and independent well into old age. effective health interventions, particularly health promotion and disease prevention programs that lead to morbidity and mortality, could assist in minimizing the cost pressures associated with ageing (Bernd Rechel, Yvonne Doyle, Emily Grundy, & Martin McKee, 2009). Another solution is for the government to build adequate systems of long-term care. Horlacher, D. & MacKellar, F.L. (2003) acknowledge that japan implemented a system of Long-Term care insurance due to its possibility to cover care without health insurance and welfare measures. By providing long-term care at home, it is inclined to reduce the demand for hospitalization and thereby slow medical spending growth.

The second problem coming from an ageing population is that it tends to reduce economic growth. this is because it affects the size of the labour force. To clarify, should more people retire, the proportion of working adults may be smaller. The labour supply is anticipated to be lowered due to aging because fewer young workers will be likely to enter the workforce, and the older ones will have lower participation rates. furthermore, low fertility rates decline the number of younger cohorts, reducing labor supply and gdp per capita (Carolin Nerlich & Joachim Schroth, 2018). Additionally, the elderly are often assumed to work less efficiently than their young or middle-aged counterparts. reduced cognitive competence across a person's life can be the cause of age-related productivity declines. while specific skills, such as communication, slightly change with time, others, like the sense of observation, decrease dramatically from a young age. moreover, despite having broader experience, elderly adults may learn to a limited extent and have low memory and reasoning capacity (Serban, 2012). As a result of the effects on labor volume and productivity, an aging population may cause economic growth to slow.

A feasible solution for this problem can be making the working life longer. As people live longer, they tend to have more incentive to work longer. For example, according to Thang (2011), general surveys have revealed a strong inclination for Singaporeans to work into retirement age. furthermore, according to a survey conducted by japan's Ministry of health, labor, and welfare, workers in general still show a strong desire to continue working after the age of 60 (David E. Bloom, Axel Boersch-Supan, Patrick McGee, & Atsushi Seike, 2011). In the study, the authors report that the Japanese government has started to raise the pension-eligible age from 60 to 65 and to require employers to extend employment to age 65. this has had a significant impact, with the labor force participation rate for men aged 60-64 increasing from 71% in 2006 to 77% in 2009.

In summary, population aging can pose various problems for individuals and society; nevertheless, several solutions can be adopted to mitigate its impacts. An aging population can increase demand for healthcare and slow economic growth. some measures that can resolve these difficulties are introducing policies to encourage the elderly to maintain health, building adequate long-term health care systems, and extending the retirement age. In this era, population aging is inevitable, so more countries will likely experience this phenomenon; however, it will no longer be an enormous problem should governments implement effective policies.