The development of technology changes the way people interact with each other In which way does it change the types of relationship between people Is this a positive or negative development

Advancing technology nowadays had completely changed human's social lives. The use of internet helped to link the people all around the world and create a communication that is unaffected by space and time. This great change can bring both positive and negative development to the society.

Firstly, the positive outcome of this change would be that the distance between one and another reduced greatly. With the use of social media apps like Facebook, Instagram and more, one could easily connect with old friends and get to know each other's lives by keeping track with each other's status. This is unthinkable in the past when old connections easily fade away as people go on their own paths and lost contact with each other. Besides that, the conveniency of building a community online also let people from all over the world that have similar interests be able to gather together. An artist can easily upload an art work on the DeviantArt website and be given comments or likes by users form the whole world. A person who want to learn to code can easily register at the Code Academy website and ask questions online in order to receive answers by experts all around the world. The technology nowadays had made it possible for every individual that surfs the internet to be able to interact with all of the people online instead of being limited to the people that is physically near only.

On the flip side of the coin, this change of relationships can also lead to downsides too. Being too obsessed to forming virtual relationships, people ended up neglecting real-time relationships instead. It had become a common sight that on a family or friend gathering, people look down on their phones instead of socializing with each other. Communicating online become so often that some even find it uncomfortable to communicate back in reality. Other than that, the design of the system of social medias nowadays like giving likes, following or more also gives people the motive to attract attention and fulfill their desires to be popular. While being creative to attract attention is being encouraged, some may go to the lengths of pretending to be someone they aren't like pretending to be pretty or wealthy.

This lead to the phenomenon when people online may not be what they seem to be and society in the internet becomes pretentious。

In conclusion, the relationship between people that had changed drastically due to technology development nowadays bring both positive and negative effects. Everyone should cope with this situation wisely and always be aware of the downsides of it in order to make the best out of this change.