Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels.

Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

There is a tendency that people all over the world seem to share the same lifestyle including what do watch, what to wear, what to eat and so on. Personally speaking, the merits outweigh the demerits of this trend.

On one hand, the process of globalizing has brought benefits. To begin with, it has become more easily for people to get along with others from different background because they have mutual interests. For instance, youngsters from China and the USA can also have topics to talk about because Hollywood blockbusters and American pop music are being popular in both countries. In this way, misunderstandings from different cultures can be eliminated. Furthermore, for those who intend to migrate abroad, they may face less culture shock and be more likely to get adapt to their new life abroad since they are already familiar with the foreign culture.

On the other hand, there exist drawbacks of cultural globalization. The most obvious one is the extinction of traditional custom due to the influence of foreign culture. Take some facts as example, parents tend to send their children to learn piano or violin instead of traditional musical instruments; fast food has substituted traditional food as the main food in daily life; the number of some minor language speakers is decreasing constantly because English has become the dominant language all over the world. All these cases above indicate that cultural globalization has led some traditional cultures to vanish.

In conclusion, it makes sense why some people are worry about cultural globalization, but I believe it brings more benefits since it increases the communication between different countries and make migration more accessible.