Digital communication technology, such as email, instant messaging and social media has improved communication and connections between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advancement in technology have made it easier than ever before to reach and interact with people around the globe. This mean that it is also easier to connect and make meaningful relationships with others. I partially agree with proposed thought and reasons for my inclination are articulated in ensuing paragraphs.

Compared to the past, it is now easier, cheaper and more convenient to communicate with people, wherever they may be. Technologies such as instant messaging, email, Skype have transferred the ways in which people communicate with each other. To quote an example, thirty years ago, getting in touch with someone in a different country was difficult and extremely expensive. Today, people can take their phone out of their pocket and contact with other people all over the world with their dear and near once at the push of a button, which can be considered as an epitome.

while technology may have made is easier for people to communicate, is has not improved as much as connections and relationships between people in any meaningful way. Email, instant messaging software or social media websites can never replace face-to-face contact, because more connection is non-verbal. People rely on body language, facial expressions and other subtle cues to understand others. In a text messaging or and email, or even with video chat, those gesture are lost. Connection between people depends on true communication, and true communication is only possible when people take face-to-face.

To wrap up, digital technology has undoutebly changed the way of communication, this is a positive thing. Being able to keep in touch with kith and keen in any corner of the world is a great advantage. Nevertheless, the way in which we connect and form relationships has not changed substantively. People need face-to-face contact to form meaningful connections with others, and correct technology is no substitute for that.