Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibilities of teachers, while other thinks this is role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Discipline is important for the all round development of children; however, nowadays many students seem to lack it. According to some people parents are responsible for inculcating the value of discipline in their children; others insist that it is the duty of teachers. I agree with the former view.

Different schools have different subjects depending on the child’s age and each subject is taught by a specific teacher. It is highly unlikely that each teacher teaches the same standards of discipline to all pupils across all grades. Each child is different and has to be molded depending on the child’s behavior. To illustrate further, the school near my house has 40 students in one class. The teacher often finds it very difficult to control the class and teach the lesson within the allotted time. The teacher is more concerned about explaining the lesson and completing the course and gives less attention to those who misbehave in their class.

On the contrary, parents observe their kid very closely since their birth. They tend to spend a lot of time with their children during their free time at home. Since they interact more with their child, they have an opportunity to teach them discipline and mend their behavior. Children often try to imitate their parents and learn behavioral skills from them. For example, my son wakes up early in the morning and gets ready for school as we all get ready for our offices. This behavior was not taught by any of us; rather it was something he learned from his own observation.

To conclude this essay, teachers in this modern era find it extremely difficult to discipline all the children and mend their ways within the allotted time. It is the responsibility of the parents to discipline their child and show them what is right and wrong.