Discuss the arguments for and against raising pets

Owning a pet is become increasingly commonplace in many parts of the world. While this tendency can bring several drawbacks to some degree, I would contend it has greater benefits.

On the one hand, there are a host of reasons why people refuse to have a pet. The first reason is raising pets if costly. This is because people have to spend a huge amount of budget on necessary services, such as food provision and medical care, therefore, it is unaffordable for owners who live under the poverty line. Another reason is there are a myriad of fur-related allergies or even respiratory diseases, which poses a threat to human’s health.

However, I believe what can be gained from this tendency can be far more beneficial. Firstly, some pets can heal patients and cheer them up, thus, it is therapeutic to raise pets. As well as this, some domestic animals are considered as friends as well because they prevent owners from isolation or even autism especially for those living alone and children lacking parents’ care. Furthermore, by taking care of and assuming duty obligations, such as feeding and house-training, individuals can learn to be more responsible and rich in kindness, thereby nurturing people’s soul. Finally, dogs, for instance, can do tasks like guarding or protecting their masters.

In conclusion, although its is true that having a pet can lead to some disadvantages, I would argue people should be encouraged to do this due to a large number of advantages it brings back.