Due to increasing world demands for oil and gas energy people need to look for new sources of energy in remote and untouched natural places Do advantages of locating these sources outweigh disadvantages damaging such places

The issue of whether we should look for oil in remote places has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many people. Some people claim that the extraction of oil in untouched places destroys local environment while others do not agree. Personally speaking, I would assert that the extraction of oil can improve local economy.

Admittedly, there are two advantages accruing from looking for oil in remote places. The immediate one is that this heavy industry can generate employment in local services such as catering business, hospitality industry, and communication. For example, my hometown’s unemployment rate was very high because there were not a lot of job opportunities 50 years ago. However, when the oil fields were developed, many companies recruited many new staff. Another benefit is the improvement of the local infrastructure and facilities. For instance, Shanghai did not have many buildings 10 years ago. After many companies went there to extract oil, they constructed many accommodations to house workers. However, this does not necessarily mean that there are no disadvantages of extracting oil.

In fact, mining non-renewable resources destroys local environment and triggers wars. First and foremost, this oil industry will release much carbon dioxide and many toxic substances. For example, Guzangzou government extracts oil crazily in order to obtain more income, but its side-effects are irreversible. According to a report, there has been a tremendous increase in the amount of greenhouse gases, while lakes and rivers around the oil wells will remain contaminated for long. In addition, looking for oil could intensify the tension among many countries scrambling for fossil fuels. For instance, there were more than 60 percentage of war caused by the fight for the oil fields in the Middle East, and furthermore, this made many homeless children.

Considering two irreversible problems, I would argue that the drawbacks of extracting fossil fuels surpass the benefits. Although the extraction of oil can improve local buildings and generate more job opportunities, protecting the environment and human safety is the priority.