The economic development brings better life to people, but only people in developing countries do feel happier while those in developed one are less. Agree or Disagree?

The world is becoming richer with people having higher salaries and more comfortable mod-cons. Some people believe that this trend is conducive to people’s growing happiness in both developing and developed regions while others subscribe to the notion that apparently it sounds so, but more pains are now seen in those in the latter areas. I strongly disagree with the latter view for some reasons.

Admittedly, the living standards of people, according to studies, are escalating by dint of economic growth. People in developing world can afford such facilities from cars, houses to overseas travel, enriching their life experience and providing them with more opportunities, but those in another pole of the world, say, the wealthy nations, are different, feeling less happy. It is believed that as a result of the expanding of outsourcing market, more jobs in halves nations are directly stolen and delivered to those in have-nots nations to make use of low-priced labor and redundant natural resources. However, I hold an opposite view on this matter. Taking a closer look into the picture of outsourcing, we can see more advantages for both sides. This trend, after all, is inevitable, showing rising flexibility in the work market where winners are the most efficient and available while losers are less adaptable to the changing world. To further counter, another argument is that facing the threat of being deprived of current jobs, workers in more developed areas are competitively working harder and training them better with advanced jobs while those in the third-world are satisfied to have chance of employment, leading to the latter’s lower crime rates and illegal immigration into the western countries for sake of job finding.

That pollution and terrorism are on a climb in the world is believed to present a threat to all people as well. Despite their richness, those in developed nations still feel annoyed for not genuinely enjoying a sustainable globe. Not only do tsunami and other natural disasters which often happen in less developed regions can have far reaching effects on rich ones, but the existence of a wider network of terrorists actually also puts their lives in jeopardy. A typical example is the case of New York’s nine eleven event, and until now, pains are noticeably seen in the face of people here, in spite of their pride to live in one of the most prosperous harbors of the world. Nevertheless, the truth is the since the 1970s onwards, there have been fewer conflicts and wars. Such terrorism actions can hardly cost as many deaths as those massacres in the First and Second World Wars. Besides, as the healthcare of each nation is increasingly addressed, by dint of economic growth and the provision of cutting edge technology, more lives in both poles are saved and diseases are in-time curbed. Also, the wealthier people are, the more they can invest in education to have better awareness of environmental protection and the more willing they are to use environment-friendly products by virtue of creative technological applications. Psychologically, once the financial matter is less urgent as it used to be, long-term thinking and strategies are adopted by people in both poles of the world.