Employers should give their staff at least a 4-week holiday a year to help employees perform better in their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The proponents of a holiday lasting at least four weeks believe such a policy will enhance labour productivity. Nevertheless, I partly agree with this school of thought due to the following explanations.

There are some reasons that explain why the supporters of this initiative claim that it will better improve the work performance of employees. Due to prolonged working days throughout the year, most staff members are reported to undergo stress and depression, detrimentally affecting their concentration during working hours and therefore reducing labour productivity. Thus, some governments have called for international actions to cut down on working days and increase the number of holidays to promote the mental health of employees in all sectors. Therefore, a yearly four-week holiday scheme may provide employees with precious chances to unwind, which can build up their motivation and energy to be more productive at work.

Nevertheless, a prolonged holiday can exert detrimental effects on the business activities of enterprises. As the number of employees needed for the management process of business activities in a company during the lengthy holiday remains low, it can suffer from a shortage of staff members if it gets an urgent order from its business partner. Due to the lack of employees, the company may have to offer a refusal to its partner, negatively impacting its reputation and production activities in the long run. For instance, as the Tet holiday in Vietnam lasts two weeks, many companies have to postpone their orders, reducing their venues during this time. As a result, some proponents of such a long holiday have asked the government to ponder shortening the holiday.

In conclusion, although some individuals claim that a four-week holiday per year may enhance labourers' performance, I partly agree with this viewpoint. As individuals experience a long holiday with numerous recreational activities, they may lose a sense of concentration and motivation at work, resulting in a fatigue state when they resume work.