(ENVIRONMENT) Online shopping is becoming more popular. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of work required? (22/02/2020)

An emerging trend that has generated a widespread phenomenon in the retail market is e-commerce. As a result, shopping online has improved the traffic scene and air pollution, which has long been a thorny problem in a few decades. With that being said, what is also being affected by this trend is the businesses operating in brick and mortar methods.

To look at the environmental aspect, the most important factor to consider is traffic and air pollution. If a normal individual drives his or her vehicles directly to the store to buy the thing they want to, the amount of scarce fossil fuels, such as gasoline, will be wasted and the volume of traffic will increase noticeably. Carbon dioxide emission, even worse, might get out of control, which adversely affects the population health as well as global temperature. Conversely, not only has e- commerce restored the hope of saving the environment, but the wide selection of goods on an internet platform has also brought convenience together with satisfaction to the act of shopping. Instead of everyone having to directly drive to another location to pick up items, all we have to do is waiting at home while having someone delivers the item to our front door.

Another aspect that deserves attention from the e - commerce phenomenon is the businesses. Unlike the form of selling online, whose display system is more and more elaborate and cutting-edge, the traditional retailer resources might be beaten by unsold stocks and struggling to cope with the high cost. Similarly, the combination of gradually increasing cost to lease retail space and decreasing amount of customer will drive businesses to bankruptcy. Assuming a shop owner wanted to design a website, which meets his or her needs, the tons of fee would be something overwhelming. On the other hand, there are a lot of offers from the online market, including voucher, gift card or free delivery, can easily attract loyal and prospective buyers.

In conclusion, online shopping is on the rise, and this trend brings both advantages and disadvantages to the environment and employment.