Eventually, technology will solve the most important environmental problems the world faces today.

In Frank Herbert's words"Technology is both a tool for helping humans and destroying them.It is the paradox of our times which we are compelled to face." This line pretty much sums up the topic. So as we can see techology is a double-edged sword.It is upto the master on how efficiently to wield this word. Today we are facing one of the greatest threats to our exitinction , the environment is changing and so in these dark times we always look upon technology as our "The Saviour" , otherwise " the first generation to starve will be the last generation to breathe.So it is imperative to use technology to solve our problems.

I would like to begin with the fact that non-renewable energy resources have caused intense damage to our environment from ozone layer depletion to global warming that has pushed us to look beyond them. This brings us to utilize other resources like solar , tidal, hydro, to replace the conventional ones. But unlike the non-renewable ones , they are not efficient in extracting the same amount of energy at a lower or optimized cost. At this critical juncture , improving technology is the best way to move forward. Today dams , solar panels , wind farms generate energy at almost the same cost as that of a thermal power plant.

Moving forward, the rapid urbanization and industrialization has created a big problem for the water bodies, which are unable to sustain the natural eco-system it nurtured. This is mostly the result of water pollution , caused by a plethora of factors from washing clothes , open defaection to dumping of harmful chemicals and sewage into them. This adversely affects the environment and the humans living by it. So to mitigate this problem , today we have advanced technologies like filters, sewage tratement plants that work round the clock ensuring the safety of the waters.

Looking back , it can be introspected that techology has lead us to this dangerous situation in the first place , just like an iron can only cut be cut by iron, similarly technology itself holds the key to the most important environmental problems the world faces today.