explain some of the ways in humans are damaging the environment. what can government do to address these problem? what can individual people do?
Humans are causing widespread devastations to environment through variety of
polluting and exploiting activities. These devastating actions could give rise to numbers of
environmental problems demanding imperative solutions taken by both governments and
individuals.
Nowadays, air pollution and deforestation are becoming two of the greatest threats
to the environment. The increase in number of factories and vehicles produces more and
more greenhouse emissions, thereby causing serious harm to ozone layer. As the result,
hazardous radiations from the sun appear to threaten humans and other creatures.
Besides, logging forest for wood is the root cause of flash flood, since the surface cannot
hold rainwater in the absence of tree.
On the one hand, governments should play the leading role in environmental
protection. Firstly, introductions of new laws to limit gas emissions and impositions of
strict punishments on illegal logging could have profound effects on cutting greenhouse
gases and loss of tree cover. Also, government should invest in alternative resources such
as “green energy” for vehicle and artificial materials for paper industry for long-term uses.
In addition, “green tax” should be imposed on private vehicles in order to stimulate
individuals to take public transport, hence the production of exhaust fumes.
On the other hand, individual behaviours also have far-reaching impacts on
environment. Using public transport instead of driving or sharing car with colleagues
seems to reduce environmental carbon footprint when those become habits. Moreover,
habitants should get hands on replantation campaigns to reverse deforestation.
Maintaining balance between logging and planting tree could be the sustained solution to
halt environment from deterioration.
In conclusion, people are creating widespread damages to the ecosystem. Both
governments and individuals should take responsibility for tackling these problems.