The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today To what extent do you agree or disagree

Fossil fuels like coal, oil and natural gas are the primary source of energy in the world. These fuels have fuelled almost all major industries and economies across the globe. Many experts propose that finding other forms of energy that are safer than these non-renewable ones should be the topmost priority of all the nations. I strongly agree with this view.

To begin with, the world has overused fossil fuels without paying attention to their detrimental effects on our natural environment. Global warming and soaring air pollution levels have become a threat to our planet and our existence. All nations are experiencing a change in their climate. Their citizens are suffering from diseases caused by hazardous air pollutants. Unquestionably, these are international problems and resolving them is beyond the capacity of any one nation.

Furthermore, the reservoirs of coal, crude oil and natural gas are depleting at a rate faster than ever before. The day when these sources will not be able to support us is not very far. Definitely, the way forward is global co-operation which will focus on the research and development of sustainable means of energy. Many wealthy countries like UK, Japan and USA are trying to reduce their dependence on non-renewable fuels. They are developing technology for other eco-friendly forms of energy such as solar, water, wind and geothermal etc. But, developing and poorer nations are not on par with them. I believe that co-ordinated efforts will be fruitful in bridging this gap as well.

Of course, there are several other serious global problems such as illiteracy, poverty, shortage of food and water, unemployment and terrorism etc. They are as important as exploring alternative sources of energy. Nonetheless, the efforts to repair the damaged environment should be prioritized before it is too late.

To conclude, the unquenched thirst for development and the rise in the global population have exacerbated immense pressure on fossil fuels. Personally, I believe that sincere efforts at a global level are required not only to meet the increasing demands of energy but also to mitigate the problems that excessive exploitation of non-renewable fuels has caused