Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Some people believe that parents of children who attend private schools should
not need to contribute to state schools through taxes. Personally, I completely
disagree with this view.
For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to reduce taxes for families who pay
for private education. Firstly, it would be difficult to calculate the correct amount
of tax reduction for these families, and staff would be required to manage this
complex process. Secondly, we all pay a certain amount of tax for public services
that we may not use. For example, most people are fortunate enough not to have
to call the police or fire brigade at any time in their lives, but they would not expect
a tax reduction for this. Finally, if wealthy families were given a tax discount for
sending their children to private schools, we might have a situation where poorer
people pay higher taxes than the rich.
In my opinion, we should all be happy to pay our share of the money that
supports public schools. It is beneficial for all members of society to have a high
quality education system with equal opportunities for all young people. This will
result in a well-educated workforce, and in turn a more productive and prosperous
nation. Parents of children in private schools may also see the advantages of this
in their own lives. For example, a company owner will need well qualified and
competent staff, and a well-funded education system can provide such employees.
In conclusion, I do not believe that any financial concessions should be made for
people who choose private education.